Home » Random » What a difference a year makes

What a difference a year makes


Last year at this time, I was dealing with a mountain of stress. I was finishing up the second semester of my MBA, I was getting ready for the holidays, and I was finishing up year one of unemployment. I was also getting ready to go to Vegas, not for fun, but for the baseball winter meetings and the job fair. I thought my life was going to change forever, and I was right, but it didn’t change in the way I thought it would. I didn’t leave Vegas with a job. I did leave exhausted, having gone through 23 interviews in 2.5 days. I had gone out every night, as we were told to do. I slept a total of 10-12 hours during the whole ordeal. But I also left with a mountain of connections; friends, prospective employers, people who could help me get where I needed to be. It was an amazing experience, one which has gotten me to this point in my career, and one which I would not trade for anything in the world.

The job fair this year is in Indy, albeit not as glamorous as last year, but probably far less stressful. I’m not going, and this makes me very, very sad. I love that I work in sports, I just wish I worked in baseball. I know I have to be here for a certain amount of time, to really prove myself I have to be able to do it for more than a couple of months. But I’m still sad, and I wish I was going.

Leave a Reply

