Home » Annoyances » The Frustration of Selling Online

The Frustration of Selling Online


Sorry I’ve been missing for a while! Actually, I’m not really. I only have so much creative energy, not to mention time, and when you work two “real” jobs and have the daily struggle of an Etsy shop to deal with, those things get used up real fast. So here’s a little recap of my life since my last post…

Wednesday:
I worked. Both jobs. In between, and at lunch, I knit. I got home and was so exhausted that all I did was go to bed. I once again forgot to take my pills, this time for only three days, but I was still feeling really run down.

Thursday:
Again, worked both jobs. Knitting in between.

Friday:
I can honestly say I don’t remember Friday. I know I worked the first job, and had the night off from the restaurant. I think I spent the evening knitting? Yeah, I think I finished a sock. I don’t have pictures of them yet, as I just finished the second sock this morning, but they’re cute.

Saturday:
WHOLE day off! Spent most of it watching movies or tv and knitting. I did manage to clean my room, boy did it need it. Made a coffee cozy (which hasn’t been posted yet) and another set of coasters (which haven’t been posted either). Then me and the roomie went to dinner. We tried to go to Olive Garden for that 4-course $15 thing, but the wait was 45 minutes. Their salad is good, but not that good. So we went to this place called California Grill, and there was NO wait. I felt kind of bad for them, because their food is pretty freakin awesome. Ate a bunch of food, stopped at JoAnn’s for modpodge, then headed home and watched some basketball. All in all, I consider that a great day.

Sunday:
This was the big day. My mom was bringing her camera down to retake most of the pictures for my shop. It took a good couple hours, and then there was all the editing I had to do after, and actually getting them into my listings… This picture project took most of the day! So here’s where we run into the frustration……..

Ok, I get that you need to make the photos of your listings look awesome. If I were a buyer, and I had to choose one out of two exact same items, I would choose the one that looked like the seller took a bit of time putting the picture together. It shows attention to detail. I get it. But I stink at picture taking. Here’s an example:

It doesn’t look so bad all by itself, but just for comparisons sake:

Big difference, huh? They are both coffee cozies, taken with the same camera, the same settings, the same background, at the same time of day. The first one looks like I shot it with a blue background, while the second background looks white. SAME BACKGROUND! This is so frustrating. So I went online and asked for another photo critique, and of course this is the first thing that was mentioned. I get that too. But I have no idea what to do about it. I spent most of my day yesterday taking pictures of these things (you can see them all here), do I really have to put myself through that again? I mean, sure, some of the pictures are different, but is that really going to deter people from buying something?

The answer is, I have no idea. I buy stuff for myself, but I couldn’t tell you what the general public is looking for when they buy stuff online. It’s so frustrating!

Oh, so I remember what I did on Friday. I changed all the titles and tags for said coffee cozies, hoping to get more search hits. It didn’t work. Still nothing.

I’m still fairly positive about this whole experience. I love making stuff, and I’d be knitting regardless. But sometime it’s like, geez, can’t a girl catch a break?

12 thoughts on “The Frustration of Selling Online

  1. I feel your pain. It’s hard coming home from working all day and realizing you have a whole other set of work to do – but the truth is that you’ve got the right spirit of things anyway. Make what you’d be making anyway. Have fun with it. That way even if it doesn’t sell, you’re still doing something you want to do, and it’s not a loss.

    Like

    • Thank you Beth! I figure if I can sell something here and there and make just a bit of extra money, it’s never going to become a full time job, but I probably wouldn’t enjoy it as much if it did anyway, so that’s alright. 🙂

      Like

  2. What your pics need (the first one) is a quick Hue adjustment. If you have Photoshop or it’s cheaper relative Elements, go into Images>Adjustments>Hue. Slide that little bar just a tad over to the orange spectrum and wah-la, the blue has been neutralized. 🙂 hope that helps!

    Like

  3. Yes I have to agree with you. It can be very frustrating. I have a bay window that has very bright natural light shining through so I take most of my pics there. I try to use some kind of prop with it to make the things look more interesting. I see other people selling stuff like crazy and wonder why not me. It can be a challenge. I just keep at it and hope for the best. I have had a return customer and get rave reviews on my items, it is just getting more people to stop and look and say “hey I need that”.

    Good luck to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

