Home » Annoyances » Self-righteousness is bad for your health

Self-righteousness is bad for your health


Sometimes I look at people and wonder what they were thinking when they decided to make a certain decision. Whether it’s an outfit they walked out of the house in that just doesn’t look right on them (skinny jeans anyone?), or the way they allow their kids to behave in public, some things just bother me. But as long as it doesn’t effect me too much, I tend to just let it go. If I see some guy walking down my street with a case of beer, even though I am not what anyone would consider a heavy drinker, I will look, maybe wonder where he’s going or if he’s going to attack my car (that actually happened once, I’m not prejudiced against drunks), and then go about my business. I try not to judge, but I’m not perfect, and everyone judges people. If I do judge, I don’t dwell on it. Honestly, I have more important things to worry about.

Truth

What bothers me are the self-righteous douche nozzles who think it’s absolutely horrible that people smoke cigarettes. Now, being a smoker myself, maybe I’m biased. But from personal experience, we are treated like pariahs by society. We have to go outside no matter what the weather. We have to hide in a corner most places, so we don’t expose others to our second hand smoke. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that those things aren’t right. But if I’m doing everything in my power to make sure that my choice isn’t imposed on you, shouldn’t you show me the same courtesy? If I had a nickle for everytime someone came up to me, and with no provocation at all, no inkling that I might be open to such things, felt it necessary to tell me that smoking was bad for me….. I’d be a freaking billionaire. You choose not to smoke. Great, good for you. It’s a nasty, expensive habit. But guess what? I choose to smoke.

That’s right. I don’t smoke because I’m addicted to it. For sure I am, and quitting would be a pain in the ass, but that’s not why I don’t quit. I don’t quit because I like smoking. It’s wonderful first thing in the morning with a cup of coffee and some Etsy trolling. There is nothing better than a cigarette after dinner. And forget it about it if I decide to have a glass of wine and overdo it a bit. I love smoking. I love the taste, the feel, the calmness it provides me, everything. I choose to smoke, and all I ask is that you respect my decision just as I’ve respected your decision not to smoke.

What gets me is people like this woman on Etsy this morning. The subject line of her forum post was something like “I just witnessed something horrible”, or something like that. Now, to me that says she just saw a 30 car pileup on the highway or someone beating their kid in Walmart. Nope, she saw a mailman, not even her mailman, smoking. She was going to complain to the post office on her lunch break, hours after said horrific event had happened. Seriously? Get off your high horse, lady. Please.

I’m not normally an agressive person. I like knitting, looking at my Etsy shop stats, spending time with my cat, drinking cheap wine on my nights off, and movies. I’m pretty peaceful, overall. But this kind of small minded, self-righteous behavior really makes me angry. I stand outside in blizzards, when it’s ten below zero, exposing myself to hypothermia, just to make sure that your lungs don’t get polluted by my habit. I have to walk around the building in the pouring rain to make sure I don’t accidently blow any of my (delicious) smoke in anyone’s face. The least you could do is walk past me without giving me dirty looks, without coughing in my direction, without posting things like this woman posted. I am more than willing to be uncomfortable for the sake of other people. I chose this, it’s fine. But please don’t make me an outcast because you made different choices. I’m sure I don’t agree with at least one thing you choose to do. It doesn’t mean I’m going to publicly humiliate you because of it.

Now go ahead and be angry with me. You have my permission. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Self-righteousness is bad for your health

  1. I think you have a valid point. I smoked for years, and every time I lit up in health-conscious Southern California, it seemed like someone would pop up out of a parking lot planter (because the parking lot is just about the only place you CAN smoke anymore) and tell me that I was going to hell, and then I would be resurrected to die again of painful lung cancer.
    “Probably.” I’d tell them. Shrug. (That’s smoker polite for “Go to Hell yourself Mr. Self Righteous Jerkface”)
    You’re outside. Away from kids. It’s your money, lungs, life, and health insurance premium.
    Of course, I quit recently due to my new found love of running….but that’s only because when you wheeze and cough up weird things on the treadmill, it makes the running less fun. When I go out, I drink, and try not to smoke more than one or two. When I work a really boring night shift at work, I have a cigarette here and there. So what?

    Like

  2. I love this post, hun. 🙂 I’m a bit of a smoker too – not too heavy, in fact it surprises some that I do. My favourite thing I like to do when someone notifies me that I could get cancer is look appallingly at my cigarette, throw them an extremely exaggerated look of concern oh go “Oh my god. Thank you. You’ve saved me life!” Then inhale deeply. Because damn. I don’t want to point out that margarine is 1 molecule away from being plastic, all their dishware is poisonous because it’s made in China, and that ultimately, if they’re gonna bitch about someone they don’t even know about smoking on their coffee break at work or what-have-you, they should be concerned about the air they breathe on a daily basis. Seriously, especially up here.

    Like

  3. Hah! I couldn’t agree more. I think it might be more socially acceptable to be a heroin addict than a smoker these days. My dad smoked 5 (yes really!) packs a day for years. He quit 40 years ago, but is so annoyed by the self-rightous Anti-Smoking Brigade he threatens to take it up again in protest.

    Like

    • Holy moly, he must have been smoking 3 at a time! How the heck does someone even have time to smoke 5 packs a day?! In my experience, the worst offenders of this self-righteousness are ex-smokers, I’m glad to hear your father isn’t one of them. My dad was, he yelled at me for years.

      Like

Leave a Reply

