Home » Etsy » Feature Fridays! Introducing Sherry from My Distinct Designs

Feature Fridays! Introducing Sherry from My Distinct Designs


Hey everybody, happy Friday! Today I’m going to start something a little different, but which I’ve seen a lot of people do on their blogs. Hopefully this will turn into an every week kind of thing, as I really enjoy getting to know other Etsy sellers and their work. So without further ado, let’s begin our first Feature Friday!

As someone who’s crafty myself, I will forever be in awe of people who make jewelry. I don’t have the patience or talent for it, so it’s always amazing to me to see the beautiful works of art that people who make jewelry can create. That’s why I am absolutely in love with Sherry’s shop, My Distinct Designs on Etsy. Her creations are just incredible! And for those of you who have never had the pleasure of checking out her work, you’ll definitely want to after reading the interview below. Not only is she extremely talented, but she’s very much like me, and you all like me or you wouldn’t be reading my blog! 😛

What is your name and your shop name?
Sherry: My name is Sherry Snider. My shop name is MyDistinctDesigns.

What types of items do you sell?
Sherry: I sell jewelry. All of it is handmade by me. I love working in sterling silver, stones, crystals and charms the most. But I also do some antique inspired pieces and a few steampunk pieces just for fun and for a change.

How long have you been selling on Etsy?
Sherry: I have had my shop open since October 2011. I didn’t get serious about it [until] after the holidays. I guess October was not the best time to open since I had time constraints until after the holidays.

How did you get started with your craft?
Sherry: I owned a brick & mortar upscale ladies boutique for 15 years. I made jewelry for my shop to go with the clothes I sold. For as long as I can remember I wanted to own a boutique. I started crafting jewelry because I couldn’t always find what I was looking for to go with the clothes I had. It just snowballed from there. The entrepreneur side of me came out long before that. Actually, that started when I was in elementary school. I wanted to earn some money to buy school clothes, so all summer I worked on creating crafts and things for the kitchen that I thought were pretty. They sold and I achieved my goal.

What else do you do when not working on your shop? Anything else would you like the blog readers to know about you?
Sherry: When I am not working on my shop, I play tennis. I play doubles and my partner and I have alot of fun. Most of the time….I have a great husband whom I have been married to 27 years and a 26 year old son. I love to spend time with my family and my Maltese, Isabella. She is adorable.

Where do you get your inspiration? Both for your craft and life in general?
Sherry: My inspiration comes from my mind. Things constantly pop into my head. Sometimes I wish I could turn it off for an hour. For my personal life I try to keep it in balance. Which is not always easy to do. I function better in my personal life and my business life it I keep everything in balance as much as possible.

I hope you all have enjoyed getting to know Sherry a bit better, as well as my very first Feature Friday! Go check out Sherry at her Etsy shop, My Distinct Designs, and show her some love!

*If you are interested in being next week’s featured seller, please send me a message through my Etsy profile, or by email at megk8100@yahoo.com.*

4 thoughts on “Feature Fridays! Introducing Sherry from My Distinct Designs

Leave a Reply

