Home » Crafting » Back to reality

Back to reality


This post may sound like more of my usual griping, but I swear, I’m really not in a terrible mood this morning. I promise. I’m actually in a pretty decent mood, all things considering. It’s also going to sound very random and confused, but I’m going to try to make everything cohesive. Anyway…. Onward!

Let’s start with Day Job #2. Remember I told you how my GM had been scheduling me for Saturdays, and how I asked her if I could have the weekends off so my body could recover, and also so I could get into a routine with my pills? Yeah, that didn’t go so well. I left her a note last week, asking her not to put me on Saturdays anymore and asking her to call me if she had any questions about it. She decided that instead of giving me the courtesy of a phone call, she would send me a nasty note through the email system. She asked me to provide her with a doctors note to prove that I had medical problems. Umm, what? She knows I had surgery 6 months ago, she knows about all my meds, she knows how sick I am. Now she’s questioning my medical history? I’m sorry, this woman is like a five year old throwing a temper tantrum. And if she’s reading this, I have this to say. I’m not the only one who feels this way about you; I’m just the only one who has the balls to tell you.

So we got in a screaming match in the office after my shift was over on Thursday. I had threatened to put in my two weeks, but the manager on duty convinced me to think about it a little more. She kept telling me I should just quit, and if I did put my two weeks in, she would fire me on the spot. Then she kind of calmed down for no apparent reason (just like a 5 year old only has a tantrum for a little while and then it’s over) and told me she wouldn’t schedule me for Saturdays going forward, but I still needed that doctors note. Oook, I go home pretty pleased with myself, feeling like I’d accomplished my goals.

Fast forward a few days to Saturday, which of course I had to work. I went back to look at the schedule before my shift started, and lo and behold…… She put me on the schedule for Saturday. Worse, she only put me on the schedule for Saturday. This woman is a piece of work. I’ve met delinquent teenagers who were more respectful than this 50+ year old woman. Well, I guess that’s just a shame, because today I go to the doc’s to get that note that says I don’t have to work Saturdays anymore. Too bad so sad. This woman obviously think she’s going to be able to play games with me, but she doesn’t have a clue what she’s getting herself into.

You know the sad part? I would have been more than willing to work a couple Saturdays if she hadn’t surprised me with them. If she had said something, asked me, told me it was only temporary, I would have been more than happy to help. I love serving, and for a long time I loved the restaurant. But I’m only going to go so far to help someone who obviously doesn’t give a shit about me. I can’t tell you how much I’m appreciated at Day Job #1; at least once a day I hear about how much I’m helping and how grateful they are. Day Job #2, though? Never, not once in over a year and a half, have they said that they even notice how hard I work, let alone that they appreciate it. And that’s the job I’m supposed to keep my #1 priority? Umm, no.

So anyway…. I did manage to keep my promise yesterday, and I took almost the whole day off from Etsy. The only thing I did do was list a set of coasters. I was still creating, but it was nice to not have to worry about promoting and blogging and all of that. I was actually super productive; I think I made 6 or 7 new sets of coasters, a pair of yoga socks (rainbow, again), and a couple tea totes. I don’t have pics of everything yet, but I’ll have them up in my shop soon. The next project is probably another set of dishcloths, since I still have about a metric ass-ton of cotton laying around.

Two more quick things and then I’m done. #1, I lost another pound this week. I also realized I was PMS’ing like crazy, so hopefully that’s part of why the weights coming off so slow. I’m aiming for two pounds next week, bringing the total to four so far. #2, it’s cold out. I know it’s March, and it’s Upstate NY, and it’s supposed to be cold, but last week’s 75+ degree weather spoiled me. I hate March.

So that’s about it. Not very interesting, but sometimes it’s nice to be boring. I like having my quiet weekends at home, watching random tv shows on netflix or sports or some crappy movie on cable. Anyway, as it’s Monday morning, I’ve posted my new favorite song below. Enjoy!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Back to reality

  1. I know this might sound odd, but even though the managers KNOW you’ve been to surgery and see you gimped, they need paperwork. I had chest surgery back in 2007 and I even came in to tell them, but no, I needed a doctor’s note, which costs money to get.
    It’s just to make things official. Same with everything else kind of bullshit employers like to pull just to make you dance.
    They tried to get me to have a doctor’s note because I didn’t want to work 3am shifts at christmas-time. :’D haha!

    Like

  2. Being appreciated at one job, not even noticed for all of your hard work at the other. I know EXACTLY what you are talking about. I ♥ my day job, and partially because of that notice and appreciation I am given. It helps to be recognized once in awhile, even if it’s just a quick “thanks.” At my second job after over 3 years (which I quit back in November) it didn’t seem to matter how many shifts I covered for people who called in sick, how many times I stayed late to help the other side of the store finish a project, or how good I was at my job, there was absolutely NO recognition or notice by any of the managers or supervisors.

    Now that I’ve been without a second job for awhile, my bills are starting to glower at me and I may have to pick another one up again. I just hope it won’t be the same situation repeated. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

