Home » Crafting » Feature Fridays: Introducing Katika from katikamade!

Feature Fridays: Introducing Katika from katikamade!


I apologize for my absence yesterday. I could not for the life of me think of something interesting to write about. I could have told you about my latest project, or the most recent sale in my shop, but I have a feeling that is about as interesting to read as it is to write; meaning, not at all. So I just didn’t post. Did you miss me?

Anyway, it’s Friday, and you all know what that means… it’s Feature Friday!! I love Feature Friday. Today we’ll be talking with Katika from katikamade. How to even begin to describe her shop… Her stuff is so unique and adorable that you will definitely want to check it out yourself; this blog post won’t do her shop justice that’s for sure. Before you go, however, let’s learn a little more about Katika!

What is your name/shop name?
Katika: My nickname since college is Katika, hence my shop name: KATIKAmade.

What types of items do you sell?
Katika: My colorful birds were one of my first posted items that hold up my shop theme: colorful baby and home decor… And most recently, original paper goods.
I fell in love with felt and haven’t stopped ever since… Thinking what can I do next with it. My main areas right now are nursery and home decor, favor boxes, party printables and most recently wedding favors and favor boxes.

How long have you been selling on Etsy?
Katika: I started selling on Etsy on October of last year even though I opened my account earlier than that; I didn’t post anything until later last year. Then, all of a sudden and after my second girl was born I got this urge to pursue what I was supposed to do since always: create and get inspired by all things that surround me. And what a great feeling to love all the beauty that is around us.

How did you get started with your craft?
Katika: I majored in products design in college. So, naturally I have always been inclined to make beautiful things. It took me a little while to realize what I was supposed to do, but after several tries at different mediums I chose the creation of felt creatures; and from there is been such a wild ride. Now I have products in felt, fabric and paper.

What else do you do when not working on your shop? Anything else would you like the blog readers to know about you?
Katika: Since the birth of my second darling girl I stayed at home with them.
I have enjoyed every second and every milestone of their growth … And that doesn’t have a price .

They keep me busy all day long, so I work all night long (pretty much …). I’m happy because I truly enjoy what I do and have ideas coming constantly that I wish I had more hands…(sigh).

I enjoy going to movies, even though don’t have much time for that right now…But every new moon (ja ja) we try to go out and get an afternoon date with the hubby.

Where do you get your inspiration? Both for your craft and life in general?
Katika: My inspiration comes from anywhere and anytime, so I’m always ready to draw or write my ideas on my phone so I can recreate them later. Sometimes a word, a color or a beautiful creature can trigger my imagination into a rollercoaster of ideas and possibilities.

I recently started to create an assortment of favor boxes for different occasions, based on the shape of the milk carton which I loved since I laid eyes on it. It got me thinking what I could do to make it even more unique and different. I started creating (along with my husband, who is an amazing cartoonist) fun, colorful designs for the box.

I am a romantic at heart, little things are the ones that drive me. Details and words are very important to me. My life quote that I think stole from someone but don’t remember is: “If you do what you love you love what you do”. Beautiful and simple as that.

And I wish you can always do what you love so your life can fill fulfilled!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Seriously, how cute is her stuff? You definitely want to go visit her shop, katikamade, and/or connect with her on her Facebook page, her Twitter, or her blog. Have a wonderful Friday and a great weekend everyone! 🙂

*If you are interested in being next week’s featured seller, please send me a message through my Etsy profile, or by email at megk8100@yahoo.com.

One thought on “Feature Fridays: Introducing Katika from katikamade!

Leave a Reply

