Home » Etsy » Oh great, yet another thing to be obsessed with!

Oh great, yet another thing to be obsessed with!


I never should have attempted to figure out google analytics. The first time I looked at it, after I set it up to link with my Etsy shop, it just looked like a bunch of random numbers, and I couldn’t make any sense of it. I should have just left it at that. Will I ever learn? No, probably not. Slash sigh.

Yeah, I'm not sure what this goat has to do with google analytics either

So I’m developing a bit of an obsession with the real time side of google analytics. As we speak, err, read? Write? Whatever. As we interact (that’s a better word for it), I’ve got it open. It’s always open. It’s usually on top, but it’s at least somewhere that I can easily access it if it’s underneath something else. Right now, I can see the second someone comes to my page. Someone from a town somewhere in the midwest has visited, like 30 seconds ago, but only looked at one page and then left.

Ok, so this is a good thing and a bad thing. On the good side, I’ll know exactly where my views are coming from, and where my customers come from. On the bad side, it’s very discouraging when I see potential customers look at one page and then leave. Or when I see people looking at my shop from Europe. I don’t ship to Europe. Maybe I should, but I have absolutely no idea how much I would charge for shipping.

And, as “they” say, a watched pot never boils. I’ve not, to this day, seen a sale. They all seem to happen when I’m not at my computer, or when I’m absorbed in something else, like my day job. So maybe I shouldn’t watch it so much? Maybe then I’d sell more? Who knows. All I do know is that it’s fun to watch how these people find my shop, and what they do once they’re there.

For anyone out there looking for help figuring out google analytics, this blog post, at Markepedia, has a bunch of good tips.

I’m not saying it’s not a good tool. For sure it is. It’ll help me understand my customers a little better, and that is never a bad thing. I just wish I wasn’t so obsessed with stats, be it google analytics stats, shop stats on Etsy, or my blog stats. Throw a bunch of random numbers at me, and I’m instantly hooked, apparently. Argh!!

7 thoughts on “Oh great, yet another thing to be obsessed with!

  1. YES you need to ship to Europe! Almost half of my customers are international, many of them coming from the UK, Australia, and France. The cost is not much more than the cost to ship within the US (which is why I charge the same rate for international as national) and it is totally worth it.

    Maybe you could set up your lightweight items (like knitted stuff) to ship everywhere, but keep the heavier stuff like your coasters within the US until you find out how much more it would cost to ship them.

    Like

    • I got a postal scale the other day, so yeah technically I could ship internationally. But… How do I know how much to charge? Are there extra fees besides just postage?

      Like

      • You have to take your packages into the post office to have them shipped, because you will need to fill out a small customs form. So technically you don’t need a scale for them.

        Other than the cost of shipping, there are no extra fees on your end. Your buyer may have to pay extra customs tax fees if the cost of the merchandise is over a certain amount, but nothing you have to worry about.

        Like

  2. Thank you for sharing the idea of Google Analytics. I’m going to get set up there and start tracking a.s.a.p. I’ll bet I’ll be the same way though – having the window open all day long and constantly clicking “refresh”, LOL.

    I found your blog through WordPress Blogs Team on Etsy. Following!

    -Maranda

    Like

Leave a Reply

