Home » Etsy » Tuesday Top Ten

Tuesday Top Ten


One of the suggestions I saw when I was looking around for ways to get over my case of bloggers block was to write a list post. Another was to start a series, so that there would be certain days when you knew you would be writing about certain things. Well, I’m a multi-tasker (I wait tables, I have to be) so I figured I’d combine these two ideas. Thus was born, Tuesday Top Ten!

And for the first Tuesday Top Ten, I’ll start simple with the Top Ten Best Things About Working From Home.

no-pants-10.jpg w=500&h=7121. There is no dress code.
No suits. No business casual. No ultra casual. I don’t even have to wear pants if I don’t feel like it, unless I have to go to the pharmacy or the grocery story or something. Most days I don’t even change out of my pajamas. Yeah, that’s pretty awesome.

2. No makeup? No problemo!
I hate wearing makeup. If I never had to wear it again, I’d be ok with that. A few months ago I accidentally flushed a mascara down the toilet, and there was a small part of me that wondered if it wasn’t actually on purpose. But there’s no point to wearing makeup when I’m working from home. Who is going to care, my cat? She loves me no matter what.

3. I can watch TV/movies while I work.
Sometimes this is a bad thing, but at least I don’t have to worry about anyone yelling at me for watching TV while I should be working. It’s especially convenient when there’s a sporting event on that I’d like to watch. In that same thread…

4. I can listen to whatever I want and not disturb anyone.
I love Spotify. LOVE. And no matter what I’m in the mood for (dubstep, showtunes, super girly bubble gum pop), I don’t have to worry about my office-mates shooting me dirty looks for listening/singing loudly.

5. Comfort is the name of the game.
No worries about uncomfortable desk chairs. No being on my feet all day. If I want to lay on the couch with a blanket all day, I do it.

6. My phone/internet activity isn’t monitored.
I’ve worked in places where they monitor where you go online. I’ve even worked in places where they limited online activity. That was terrible.

7. Spending the whole day on Facebook is actually a good thing.
Well, maybe not the whole day. But I literally need to spend a part of my day on Facebook, or Twitter, or Tumblr or whatever it happens to be. That’s where I do my marketing, and marketing is required.

1345689959456_2738233
8. Unlimited coffee breaks, bathroom breaks, etc.
No one is going to yell at me because I’m not chained to my desk, or because I’ve disappeared for too long. Again, the only other creature here is my cat, and she really doesn’t care.

9. If I want to work on something else for a little while, no one can tell me not to.
I worked at a place once where every day when I went in, I knew exactly what I was going to be working on. It was dreadfully boring. I love the fact that I can be knitting a pair of boot cuffs one minute, get sick of knitting, go make a set of hair ties, and then go back to knitting. The only person who I answer to is me.

10. NAPS.
I don’t know why more workplaces don’t offer nap breaks. In fact, why did we ever stop taking naps in the first place? We knew we needed them when we were young, and then forgot, only to remember again around high school/college. Then we forgot again? That’s dumb, naps are awesome. If I’ve hit a particularly unproductive spot in my day, I take a nap and then BOOM, I’m productive again! Seriously, we need to work on this. If we can make the work week 5 days and the work day 8 hours, we can make sure we have breaks for naps in there too.

So ends my very first Tuesday Top Ten. If you work from home and you agree, please feel free to share this. And if you have any other things that I may have forgotten, leave me a note in the comments. I’d love to hear what you all think are the best things about working from home!

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Top Ten

  1. This is a great idea for a post. My favorite of your top 10 is unlimited breaks. I have to eat a little bit every couple of hours, so at home, I can just have a snack whenever I need to. I love that!

    Like

    • I’m not quite there yet either, but honestly I don’t think I will ever quit my “day” job. I actually love waiting tables, and it gives me a chance to get out of the house on a regular basis. 😛

      Like

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Top Ten | Random Musings

Leave a Reply

