Home » Crafting » Hot Pink Disaster

Hot Pink Disaster


Right now, if you were to walk into my house and turn right at the top of the stairs, you would immediately be faced with a room that looks as if it was effected by a natural disaster of epic proportions. If you look hard enough, you might be able to tell that it was once a craft room, but has since been taken over by massive amounts of yarn and plastic shopping bags.

Every time I go in there I have a minor anxiety attack. I’ve known that I needed to organize it for months now, but shop stuff has been my priority for quite a while now, so the stuff that doesn’t absolutely need to be done, simply hasn’t gotten done.

But I think about it a lot. I love my craft room, and it’d be nice if I could spend a lot more time in there. So every now and then I get online, onto the great time-suck that is Pinterest and try to find interesting ways to organize my little disaster. Here are four of my most recent favorites:

And the author's name is Megan, which makes it even better.

And the author’s name is Megan, which makes it even better.

1. Organized Gift Wrapping Station from Honey We’re Home

I cannot tell you how much I am in love with this idea. It’s beautiful; functional and eye-pleasing at the same time. Obviously I would have to alter it just a bit to fit my own needs (I don’t really need that much space for wrapping paper), and I would most likely change the color to fit the room’s color scheme, but other than that it’s pretty much perfect.

I especially love the spots for ribbon. I have way too much ribbon, not to mention washi tape and various other things that I could make those work for.

Yup, perfect.

tumblr_mdasdo2iFs1qcyp8qo1_5002. Yarn Organization Ideas from Rosepath Weaving.

Ok, normally I don’t promote other Etsy shops that are similar to mine. But this time, it’s worth it to make an exception. Theresa at Lucky Hanks is the proud owner of this gorgeous yarn wall, which her husband helped her build. I can’t even imagine this being in my house; it’d be like a dream, and I probably would end up spending so much time staring at it that I wouldn’t get anything else done.

Being a bit more realistic… My local yarn shop closed recently, and the owner said that she would probably be selling all her fixtures soon, but I haven’t seen anything about that yet. She had a wonderful yarn wall, made up of diagonal cubes. I’m not quite sure where I would put either of these things, but I do know that I need to find a better way to store what I have. It’s in a bunch of bins, shoe boxes and plastic bags right now, and scattered all over the room. I need something more centralized.

sewing room 4-11 0073. Sewing/Craft Room Ideas from Sew Many Ways.
Since most of what I have is already in these little plastic shoe boxes, this would be fantastic as well. It doesn’t keep everything quite as visible, but I can’t really decide if that matters or not. Half of me thinks that life would be easier if my yarn/supplies were more hidden; my mother couldn’t “shop” in my craft room as easily, and I wouldn’t get in as much trouble for having way too much yarn/elastic/washi tape/duck tape/whatever the current obsession is.

I also loves shelves. To me, there is nothing better than a pretty spot where I can put stuff. Even the color of this works for my craft room. Black goes with everything.

4. Craft-Room-Organization-Twine-Holder-Damask-LoveHow to Organize Your Baker’s Twine from Damask Love.
I originally found this at Everything Etsy, which has a ton of organizing ideas as well. I think this is just beautiful. And yes, I do have that much baker’s twine. Maybe more, actually. As we’ve discussed before, I’m a bit of a hoarder. But at less than $20 (even without the 50% off coupon that the author used), I think I can swing this. This might be the simplest to actually accomplish, and by far the least expensive.

So what do you think? What are your favorite places to find organizational inspiration?

2 thoughts on “Hot Pink Disaster

  1. I love that yarn wall! I don’t even own that much yarn, but that would be awesome if I did! I usually find my organizational ideas from other people on Etsy. Once on a BNR, someone said they organize their yarn by color in plastic tubs. My yarn was in plastic tubs, but not by color. So, my daughter and I organized it by color, and it is definitely easier to find what I need now.

    Like

    • That’s not a bad idea. I have mine organized by weight right now, but again it’s mostly in bags on the floor. Christmas caused a bit of an explosion, haha. And I definitely have that much yarn!! 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

